

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE September 24, 2020

Two Alaska Schools Receive National Blue Ribbon School Honors

JUNEAU – U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos today recognized two Alaska schools as <u>National Blue Ribbon Schools</u> for 2020. The recognition is based on a school's overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. <u>Eagle Academy Charter School</u> in the Anchorage School District and <u>Mitkof Middle School</u> in the Petersburg School District were chosen as recipients of the prestigious award.

"Congratulations to this year's National Blue Ribbon School awardees," said Secretary DeVos. "It's a privilege to recognize the extraordinary work you do to meet students' needs and prepare them for successful careers and meaningful lives."

Governor Mike Dunleavy echoed the praise, noting "to be selected for demonstrating exemplary educational performance is an achievement to be celebrated. I am proud to extend my gratitude and congratulations to the two National Blue Ribbon School recipients for their hard work and dedication to Alaska's students."

The coveted National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the hard work of educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content. Now in its 38th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed almost 10,000 awards to more than 9,000 schools, with some schools winning multiple awards. This year 317 public schools and 50 non-public schools were selected for the honor.

The U.S. Department of Education recognizes all schools in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, student subgroup scores and graduation rates:

- **Exemplary High Performing Schools** are among their state's highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.
- **Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools** are among their state's highest performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school's student groups and all students.

"It is an honor to recognize these two outstanding Alaskan schools," said DEED Commissioner Dr. Michael Johnson. "Congratulations to the teachers, families, students, and school communities of Eagle Academy and Mitkof Middle. This award is a testament to your commitment to student learning."

The 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools Awards Ceremony will be held virtually Nov. 12 and 13. Photographs and brief descriptions of all 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools are available at <u>ed.gov/nationalblueribbonschools</u>.

The Alaska Department of Education and Early Development provides information, resources, and leadership to support over 130,000 students in 503 public schools across Alaska. The mission of the department is to ensure an "**Excellent Education for Every Student Every Day**."

###

& EARLY DEVELOPME

Media Contact: Rochelle Lindley, Information Officer, (907) 465-6535